You Need It Most
Our Davidson County car wreck attorneys personally meet with you to evaluate your case and your injuries to strategize, prepare and execute on getting you the compensation you deserve. We understand that car wrecks have life-changing effects on your life as well as those close to you. Often times, victims of car accidents settle too early with insurance companies and settle for compensation lower than what their case is really worth. Our Nashville personal injury lawyers are dedicated to fighting for you. Contact one of our car wreck attorneys today (615) 859-1328 for your free consultation.
What you Must Prove in Tennessee
In Tennessee, in order to recover damages, you must prove that the other driver was negligent. Drivers are required to exercise reasonable care when operating their motor vehicles. Negligence is a legal term and contains specific elements that must be proven in each individual case. Specifically, Tennessee is a modified comparative fault state. What this means is that if you are injured in a car wreck due to the fault of someone else, you cannot recover money if you are 50 percent or more at fault. If you are 49 percent or less at fault, then you can recover damages. However, your damages are reduced in proportion to your degree of fault. We investigate and evaluate each part of your case to make sure you are not shorted the money you deserve. In the event your case goes before a judge or jury, our lawyers are prepared to fight and prove each element of your case.
Gathering the necessary evidence is time-consuming and complex. It is important to remember that under Tennessee law, there is a one year statute of limitations (time limit) for filing a personal injury claim in order to recover. We have the experience necessary to prepare and prove each element of your case. Call one of our Davidson County, Sumner County and Robertson County car wreck attorneys for your free consultation today (615) 859-1328.
Evaluating damages is one of the most important aspects of your car wreck case. Your damages could include economic damages, property damage, medical expenses (past and future), lost wages (including future lost wages), pain and suffering, and sadly wrongful death. Even your uninjured spouse may have a claim. Often, when you have been in a wreck, you have missed work or missed advancing work opportunities, including promotions. Tennessee law specifically recognizes compensating a car wreck victim for pain and suffering. Generally, Tennessee law places a cap on non-economic damages at $750,000 but this cap can be removed if the at-fault driver was under the influence of drugs or alcohol or is convicted of a felony in connection with the car wreck. Pain and suffering damages vary among each individual and each particular case. It can be hard to place a hard number on pain and suffering as you have been through a traumatic event and each individual experiences pain and suffering differently. Let our team of attorneys help guide you through the claims process.
Contact Freeman & Bracey, PLC today (615) 859-1328 to help determine your damages. Hiring one of our experienced Davidson County personal injury attorneys can likely increase your settlement award. Our personal injury attorneys operate on a contingency fee basis. In other words, this means our attorneys do not get paid unless the victim wins their case or obtains a settlement.
- 1 Free Consultation Available*
- 2 Wide Range of Practices
- 3 Personalized Service